Nile One of the Seven Wonders

The strong start to the year for Uganda continues as it receives even more international recognition for it’s natural excellence, this time naming the Source of the Nile one of the Seven Natural Wonders of Africa!

The announcement marks the culmination of the first half of the Seven Wonders of Africa Project, which was founded in 2008 by Dr Philip Imler, a passionate conservationsist with experience in travel, healthcare and non-profit work. The objectives of the Project are to deliver nature related education, foster an affection for the amazing wild world, and encourage philosophies and practices of conservation.

Ms Marai Mutagamba, the Minister for Tourism, Wildlife and Heritage, said of the announcement: ‘This is a great achievement to the country and with the aims of such an accolade, we should have a shared responsibility such that we can start the conservation from here.’

The full list of the Seven Wonders of Africa includes:

  • The Source of the Nile
  • Mount Kilimanjaro
  • The Red Sea
  • The Sahara Desert
  • The Okavango Delta
  • The Serengeti Migration
  • The Ngorongoro Crater

For further information on visiting Uganda and the wonders of the Nile, the Great Rift Valley, the Virunga Volcanoes and the Kyambura Gorge among many other spectacular locations too many to mention, contact a member of our sales team.